Victory for free speech (and song) in Wisconsin

WOOT!

A federal judge yesterday granted a preliminary injunction in the Capitol free speech case, allowing groups of up to 20 people to gather without a permit inside the Capitol.

“This is huge victory for free speech,” said Larry Dupuis, legal director of the American Civil Liberties Union of Wisconsin. “The court recognized the Capitol’s unique and historic role as a forum for free speech and public gatherings.”

And now I play one of my favorite songs to sing when I’m in the rotunda:

No more permits. No more permits. Nooooo more permits overrrr me!
And before I’d be a slave
I’d be buried in my grave
And we’ll all fight for freedom ’til we’re free!

No more tickets. No more tickets. Nooooo more tikets overrrr me!
And before I’d be a slave
I’d be buried in my grave
And we’ll all fight for freedom ’til we’re free!

DETAILS, DETAILS…

HEARING
The Department of Administration plans to hold a public hearing at 2:30 p.m. Friday at 101 E. Wilson St. on its proposed changes to rules regarding use of the Capitol.

RULING
Learn more about the ruling at the Wisconsin ACLU page.

BACKGROUND
Assuming you, reader, are brand new to Madison, WI and/or need a little background, an activity called “Solidarity Singalong” has been occurring every weekday at noon and many weekend days from March of 2011 to this very day at the Capitol building of Wisconsin – usually in the rotunda but sometimes outside by the Lady Forward statue where State Street meets the Capitol square. It is a peaceful vocal protest that will not end until, as some say, ‘it gets better’ here.

You might like to check out the Solidarity Singalong facebook page.
A post I wrote entitled, “9 things to know about the Solidarity Sing Along” back in April gives you a flavor of the flak and harassment people have endured for holding on to their freedom to assemble and sing in the Capitol. It begins, “I’m in. I stand by the Solidarity Sing Along (SSA). I do not think the Solidarity Sing Along is detrimental to “our movement”. It is in fact the movement’s most persistent element – the pilot light that you should keep afire.”

Solidarity Sing Along blue fist

Leave a Reply

