Throttling: facebook’s big F U to anybody who isn’t a corporation

3287111536_cf258c7d3d_m
Image credit: Alan Levine

This is not the first article to draw our attention to facebook’s new tactic of promoting commercial activity above all else.

This is from Valleywag at Gawker:
“..even if an organization’s Page has 10,000 followers, any given item they post might only reach 100-200 of them. In the case of my organization, that ratio is already down from an average of nearly 20% in 2012 to less than 5% today—a 75% reduction.”

I was splitting my time between twitter, facebook, and this blog. And earlier – when we had an uprising on our hands here – I was also pumping out on YouTube and Tumblr.

Anyway, I’m thinking I’ll duplicate (or just move?) more of the mini-posts I usually put on facebook to this blog. Facebook isn’t working for regular old “content generators” anymore and it irks me.

Read the rest at, Facebook Is Throttling Nonprofits and Activists

Leave a Reply

