Puppets to reenact Willy Street Co-op newsletter comments

13894783050_16fcb7cbce_z
Willy Street East is currently being remodeled. This sort of thing can lead to lengthy and scathing comments in the newsletter.

I am absolutely thrilled that the Sockrates puppet crew will once again dramatically read comments from the Willy Street Cooperative newsletter with musical accompaniament from Yid Vicious.

Basically, the ONLY thing I read in the Willy Street Co-op Reader are the comments.

If you’re a co-op member, you know why. In case you haven’t already committed yourself to a membership discount at this place of things crunchy and organic, I have transcribed a few comments culled from my pile of co-op readers (Yeah. I saved ’em.):

I have been a member since 1974. I went to buy #2 coffee filters and the cost for 40 filters is $7.26. This is not acceptable. Please remember on whose backs you are building your “legacy in the community.” Shame on you!

All deli offerings have too much cheese in them to purchase. Stop.

Almost every time I come here there is someone’s car parked in the stalls adjacent to the bike racks, idling the car emitting choking fumes as I lock my bike. The best solution, of course, would be $15/gal gas. As an interim could you post a “no idling” sign at the dirty transportation spaces nearest the clean transportation parking. Thank you.

If I were to share my own comment with Willy Street Co-op it would go somethin’ like this:
Forget about sending me a quarter pound of newsprint every month! Just send me 1 sheet of paper with the comments on it and put the rest of that stuff on the net. That’ll save money, save some trees, and STILL keep me coming back in the store for more.

Event details:

Yid Vicious with Sockrates Sock Puppet Carnival of Morals and Logic

Saturday, May 31, 8 p.m.
Mother Fool’s Coffeehouse, 1101 Williamson St.
$6
motherfools.com; 259-1301

Cap Times has some more on this at Sock puppets gently mock the Willy Street Co-op’s tiny tragedies

Yid Vicious homepage

Leave a Reply

