A Wisconsin Solidarity Grab Bag. March 15, 2011.

While it’s great that my pants fit looser from all that exercise I did rallying, my kitchen is a health hazard. You may see more “grab bag”‘s  “this n that”‘s and other people’s videos this week.

Tensions Ease Between Dems and GOP

Senator Cullen Extends an “Olive Branch”, Puzzling some Dem 14 Fans

“Sen. Tim Cullen, D-Janesville, a key member of the Democratic senators who fled the state in a failed effort to stall Gov. Scott Walker’s budget repair bill, said Tuesday he was drafting a state constitutional amendment that would allow the Legislature to vote on and pass fiscal bills with a simple majority.”-madison.com

Here’s one of the funnier tweeted criticisms: “Need new party called “The Badass Progressives Takin No Crap From You” and Cullen not invited” @juliecmitchell

And this was the most popular criticism of Cullen tweeted: “150,000 people cheer Dem Sen Tim Cullen‘s return and 3 days later he pisses in their faces” –@mgarth

Scott Fitzgerald Rescinds Order Against Dem Vote & Drops Fines

Yesterday, Senate Majority Leader Republican Scott Fitzgerald had announced the Senate Democrats would be allowed to take part in committees meetings, offer comments and forward amendments but their votes would not be recognized or tabulated.

Today at 1:30PM he had a turnaround:

“I have assurances from some of the Democrats that they will be in the chamber to debate the budget,” Fitzgerald said. “And I won’t prevent them from voting in the committees.”thirdcoastdigest

Republican Senator Mike Ellis added that he will not enforce the fines levied on the Democratic 14 for not appearing in the chambers over the last three weeks.

Brief video of Scott Fitzgerald courtesy of up and coming non-profit news outlet, Wisconsin Reporter:

The Three Senators Least Likely to Survive a Recall Special Election Are….

Dan Kapanke, Randy Hopper, and Luther Olsen according to polls published by FireDogLake. You may have heard that Senator Hopper is living in Madison with his 25 year-old-girlfriend. He’s now also suffering a residency complaint.

I’m a little surprised to see the relative strength of Alberta Darling in the polls, since she won by only about 1,000 votes in her last election and 1/3 of the recall signatures needed to kick off a special election in her district were gathered in just 1 weekend.

Democrat 55
Dan Kapanke 41

Democrat 49
Randy Hopper 44

Democrat 49
Luther Olsen 47

Rob Cowles 45
Democrat 43

Sheila Harsdorf 48
Democrat 44

Alberta Darling 52
Democrat 44

Mary Lazich 56
Democrat 34

Glenn Grothman 60
Democrat 32

The Ed Schultz Show Has a New Fan

Ed broadcast his MSNBC show live from the square in Madison in our first week of the Capitol occupation. Sometimes he actually talks about football – like he did today. BUT so as far as I’m concerned, he’s been here for us when we’ve needed him so I’m an Ed Schultz fan for life.

Ed is keeping his eye on the Wisconsin crisis and union issues across the country. As guests today on his radio show, he welcomed Sen. Lena Taylor, farmer Tony Schultz of Athens, WI and John Nichols of The Nation.

Who the heck is Tony Schultz? He’s a third generation family farmer, but more interestingly, he’s a firey speaker. This, to me,  is 7 minutes and 37 seconds of truth and inspiration:

Rotunda Empty

The photo below came with this tweet from @MissPronouncer

“I commented aloud “everything’s back to normal.” A passerby said, “it’ll never be normal again.” “
This photo made me sad. I was really enjoying the new normal we made in there.

Just because I feel like it, some of the good old packed rotunda days….

my favorite video from Matt Wisniewski, from when the Capitol was a living thing to us.

Comments are now closed on this blog.

8 thoughts on “A Wisconsin Solidarity Grab Bag. March 15, 2011.

  1. Thanks for the rotunda photo. This morning my 8-year-old son asked me if we could go down to the Capitol tonight. I dismissed him: “Why? there won’t be any protests tonight.” He replied, “I know. I just want to be there, even if it is empty.”

    We are re-defining “normal” and I suspect we may be raising a new generation who will never take their rights for granted.

    SB-22 is coming next week – I think people will show up to oppose that, so we may all be meeting again.

  2. I think what I’m trying to say is it’s symbolic: if the republicans vote for it, they cannot ever do what the democrats did under any circumstances when the democrats are in the majority. But if the republicans vote against it, they will be spineless hypocrites who cried the entire time that it was unfair that this right was given to them.

    Either way no matter how you look at it: it’s perfect political ploy.

  3. I’m going to play devil’s advocate for Tim Cullen:

    The amendment he is suggesting often takes years to get through, What if it’s designated to have the republicans to put their vote where their mouth is? An amendment often takes years to pass on principle – so by the time it passes in theory the Republicans may very well know the Democrats are going to be in power.

    The real question should be: are conservatives willing to stand by what they say that law makers have no freedom to do that, even if the power goes to the other side? Or would they grow fearful that it is no longer allowed when they have to stand up for something?

  4. A simple majority to pass fiscal bills is probably not a bad thing. As a lover of all things Wisconsin who was born there but long ago migrated to California, I approve of the idea.

    I just wish Wisconsinites would stop voting for the worst Repukkkes in the country. What the hell happened last November??????

  5. Re: Tim Cullen – When I read your excerpt and the linked article above, the first thought I had was “…and the Democrats are back.” I think I was probably literally standing there when my mouth open in shock the day I heard the Senate Democrats left the state. Democrats? Really? Did something all together and in a unanimous fashion? Really?

    Now I can see that the real Democrats have returned…The ones that are anything but unanimous and couldn’t agree on how to get out a paper sack together. *sigh*

  6. The numbers for Darling are a bit surprising, but she’s held that seat since 1993 and obviously 2008 was a down year for Republicans. Oddly, if you look at the poll, her district had vastly fewer survey respondents than the others. I’m not saying that means anything.

    Besides the three Republicans who are behind, it looks like Cowles could be in for a tough one too, 45 to 43 leaves 12% who haven’t committed.

  7. I wonder if Fitz was cornered on the legality issue of not including the 14 and that is why he did an about face. He can lie through his teeth and say they are playing nice, but I don’t believe it for a second. I too have been turn on to The Ed Show. I only worry that he can sometimes sound like a polar opposite of Rush, but I’ll keep watching. Tony Schultz impressed me to no end and I never tire of Matt’s videos. The Cave has now become my fav song to run to.

  8. The comment above is right, “it’ll never be normal again.” It truly will never be back to what it was before. Wisconsin has awakened. This, I pray, is the “new normal” — an awakened Wisconsin.

Leave a comment